Chriss-MacBook-Pro:~ chriswakim$ ssh 10.0.0.3
chriswakim@10.0.0.3’s password: welc0me
Permission denied, please try again.

and keeps going in a loop for 3 tries then i get the following

Permission denied (publickey,password).

Can someone help ?

It’s because you need to be signing onto the My Cloud NAS as user: root

How do I do that ?

SSH into the NAS then type root for the user. then type welc0me for the password.

RAC

I thought that when I type
ssh 10.0.0.3
is the ssh into the NAS
How do you SSH into the NAS ?

Sorry I am very new to all this

Yes. You SSH into the ip address of the NAS. It should respond with Login as: to which you type root Then it will ask for the password. You then respond welc0me

RAC

This is how it is responding though!
Do I write root into the password?

No You should type welc0me. But are you sure that 10.0.0.3 is the IP address of the My Cloud?
What OS is your PC running. On my windows PC I need to run a program called putty. I then put the IP address of the My Cloud in the address bar and click ssh then click open.

RAC

Well this is what it says in the My Cloud Dashboard

Is there another way to find the IP of My Cloud ?

MAC OSX 10.11.1 EL CAPITAN

For Macs I don’t think I need this because Mac is Unix based

I’m going to have to defer to the MAC people. I don’t have any knowledge of the MAC system.

RAC

If you don’t know what you are doing you an easily brick your My Cloud using SSH or render it crippled. Using SSH can void the My Cloud warrantee. So use at your own risk.

To SSH from a Mac, from the “Terminal” type:
ssh root@< My Cloud IP address>

So in your case if the IP address of your My Cloud is 10.0.0.3 you would type in “ssh root@10.0.0.3”.

You will then be prompted to enter a password. The password is: welc0me
(Note: that is the number zero not the letter “O” in the password.)

On the latest firmware the My Cloud will prompt you to enter a new SSH password at the first SSH login to the device.