WD MyCloud 4TB NAS agonizingly slow

I’m a computer professional of 30 years, home network setup clean and error free.

I attached this 4TB drive and my main computer (Windows 7) found it immedidately and I created a temp directory fine.

Am only using this drive as a simple archive, do not need cloud capabilities, but copying files, some pretty large,

is agonizingly, soul-crushingly slow…even a 1k file.  Pretty sure this is not a Gigabit vs 100Base issue.

Even in a shell, just changing directory to it is sssslllloooowwwww.  Changing directory to another NAS drive is normal.

Setup:

Dell Precision running Win7

Netgear router

Netgear switch

Because I was out of ports on the router, I just plugged into a connected switch/hub.  Like I said, initially,

everything seemed fine, but after trying to copy stuff, now slow.  I rebooted my computer just to eliminate,

but it was never slow when dealing with any other network connection,etc…FireFox/web performance not affected.

I could try to connect it directly to router, but I doubt that’ll make a difference.

I’m wondering if I need to configure the MyCloud drive?..I didn’t because heck it found it on startup, and seem ok.

But at this speeed, it’s NOT useable. 

When something *is* copied to it,…in my Explorer window, slow green progress bar works it way across,…takes almost a minute…

Does anybody have a fix for this? Or can suggest something to try? Is WesternDigital out there somewhere?

Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated,

Thanks,

JP

JPolk wrote:> Pretty sure this is not a Gigabit vs 100Base issue.

I could try to connect it directly to router, but I doubt that’ll make a difference.

But there must be something maybe not a Gb vs. 100 but more steps you put in the middle more places to mess with transfer speed.

Mine gives me 50 MB second sustained up or down.

Try it, nothing to loose.