WD box freezing all the time

Hi there, i have read alot of the post in regards to my problem, also i had a message saying memory low a couple of days ago.  i am not much of a tech person, so i need simple answers but from what i have read, and since tried… nothing is working and it still freezes after approx 20 mins of viewing.  i never had the problem before, and i cant seem to operate the box with the remote alot as well at the moment so im getting very frustrated!

Any suggestions?

maybe the box is overheating

did you try to put it upside down?

i have one since 2012 and another since 2014 

I also am experincing the same problem. I have been using 5 WD boxes in my home for many years and in the last few months I started having the same problem, after awhile the picture locks up and becomes unresponsive, the only fix is to unpower and reboot. It does not matter if it is wired or wirless and only happens when using file sharing or media service on the network but all play OK using the USB ports. I tried a different hard drive on the network and used my old router and it has the same effect.

It seems to have started happening after the last firmware update. The boxes use to come up in the diplay when ever there was a firmware update but I have not seen one lately. If I go into the system to check for new firmware updates it says it is unable to and I need to check my network connection, it checks out good and I can get Netflix so I have no idea why it comes up with that. I am running Firmware 2.02.32

If anyone has any solution it will same me from throwing all these boxes in the trash.

Robert108 wrote:If anyone has any solution it will same me from throwing all these boxes in the trash.

well, you could always try rolling back the firmware before trashing it

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-Live-Streaming/2-02-32-Firmware-no-longer-allows-content/m-p/781937#M32423