Relay Connection Solved

I figured I would post my experiences getting this connected - In the end the fix made sense.  Let me preface this by saying I have been an IT architect for the better part of the last decade, and this is the most frustrating device I have ever come into contact with.

Out of the box, set up was easy.  Local access was fine and I could access when connected to a different wifi.  Being the engineer, I could not leave well enough alone, so I installed the mobile app and then the problems began.  LIke most mobile ISPs Sprint blocks 443 essentially rendering the default secure port useless.  I figured, “no big deal”  just change the listening port and forward in my Firewall right? in comes the Port forwarding failed relay connected message"  Configured over and over again to ad nauseam to no avail.  after testing via telnet to ensure what ports were open and listening, i came to the conclusion that no matter how you configured the manual remote ports the NAS would always just listen on 80 and 443 respectively.  So here is my setup-

• Cloud ports set to manual on NAS 9080 and 9443 respectively

• router - upnp enabled, remote ports 9080 and 9443 forwarded to internal IP (NAS) 80 and 443

-Static IP set on NAS and reservation set in router

Bingo, relay disappeared and port forwarding successful.  External test both on the sprint network and via telnet validate.  The interesting part of all of this is that the NAS doesn;t actually listen on 9080 and 9443 it just will accept the forwards coming from the router on only those two ports.  

Hope this helps someone - say thank you if it does

5 Likes

nicely done… it all makes sense afterwards.

I used the same solution for: Somebody was trying to access my Mac via port 5900 with Authentication FAILED screensharingd. My solution was to route port 5900 to an unused internal IP and port 9999 and set my remote Mac software port to use a different incoming port that maps it back to 5900 internally.