MyCloud (old version)

I have changed my laptop and I want to link MyCloud. Because of the change of WD’s support for this due to the OS upgrade I can no longer access the files via the internet.
My Windows File Explorer identifies the drive but asks me for my Windows Network Credentials. Where can I find this?
Alternatively, as my new laptop does not have an ethernet port, can I connect via a Ethernet / USB cable, if such a one exists?
It seems that the last resort would be to open up the MyCloud case and use the drive as an ‘normal’ external drive.
Than ks - and I’m not a computer techie!

@Philip4946
Is your device connected to your router/home network? What is your home network password?

Have you turned off internet access in the dashboard and given your WDMYCLOUD a static address?

My 1st generation My Cloud is used on my home network. See image below.

First, make sure SMB1.0/CIFS and File Sharing is enabled in Windows. Also make sure to set the Windows Network Profile to Private and not Public.

Enable File Sharing Support on My Cloud, Home & Passport in Windows
https://support-en.wd.com/app/answers/detailweb/a_id/4155

Then access the My Cloud Dashboard using a web browser. You can review the settings for the My Cloud device including setting Shares to either Public or Private and seeing what Users have been added, what Private Shares they have access too, and what the user’s password is (or one can reset a User’s password). Generally it is best to configure the My Cloud administrator account to have full read right access to all Private Shares.

Single-Bay My Cloud OS 3 Dashboard Access
https://support-en.wd.com/app/answers/detailweb/a_id/15104

Note: Windows generally will only allow a single User account (user name/password) to access Shares on the My Cloud that are configured for Private.