How to setup WD Mycloud?

Hi

I have just purchased my first WD Mycloud (4TB). Main use : one common place for my 2-3 computers store documents, pictures, movies, etc, … backup and possibly streaming (if possible) …?

The feedback from the netshop was not to great, but I thought “how hard can it be…”. Reading the feedback from this forum, I’m not sure if I dare to start :

• I have no experience with linux, I don’t want to use weeks troubleshooting in order to set it up……

- I’ve been struggling enough installing a 2nd harddrive (SSD+HDD) and converting from XP and tweaking w8.1 on my new computer (…and I’m not “all there yet” ….)

So …. would it be possible to make a “sticky note” , with the best tips on how to setup MyCloud (besides referring to the user manual… from which I understand doesn’t “tell it all”)

…or should I just give up and return the item and wait until the Synology box’es drops in price ? (which is not very likely … as they obviously have adopted the business mind set from Apple …) 

if you have not set it up yet, do not upgrade to the V4 firmware. I don’t recall if it asked to upgrade or just did it so for safety I would unplug the wan cable from the router during this phase. go into the UI / settings and disable automatic updates.

if you already upgraded I suggest trying this Easy Downgrade if you have any issues

1 Like

If I’m not mistaken… the WD MY Cloud comes with concierge service.  Call 1-855-556-5117 and Westen Digitals customer support team will help you set it up or even set it up for you if you allow them remote access.

Thanks for the input guys …

So :

1. Last “proven” FW : v03.04.01-230

2. Support : http://support.wdc.com/contact/contact.asp?lang=en&ct=personalcloud#europe

3. … what next  … what tweaks and workarounds are “required” for getting the Cloud to function ?

“required” is a relative term here, I would suggest disabling or lowering the priority of the photo scanning / indexing processed if you have a lot of photos.