Why to slow?

i just got 

WD ShareSpace 4 TB Hard Drives ( WDA4NC40000)

and it’s connected via ethernet to mac

and just trying to sort my files from folder to folder transfering about 1.5 TB takes about 3 days ??

While the network interface *clocks* at 1 Gb/s, there are other factors in the end-to-end stream that are more limiting. Just to name a few: clock speed of the processor (not that fast), disk rotational speed, OS overhead (linux-based) and the file transfer protocol which is either via SMB or AFP depending on what you selected. I found that AFP is a tad more efficient. But you have to open the folder share explicitily using this such as "afp:///“share name”. Do not expect lightening transfer speed as you would get with an enterprise-level NAS device.

–dennis

so the speed is fine i mean there is nothing wrong with the hard drive or the way i set up the network ?

any tips on how to make it more faster?

keep in mind i’m not an expert i barly know how to set up a network

and i have time capsule apple connected to my modem and the WD hard drive connected to time capsul and mac is connected to time capsule via wifi 

thanx

Sharespace is a very, very slow box and WD has refused for years to even try to change that.

Of course, any attempt is limited because the hardware they chose is extremely limited.

So the speed you experienced is normal for a Sharespace - there is likely nothing wrong with it.

There are two tips for making your setup faster:

1. Don’t use wifi

2. Don’t use WD products

dngovoni wrote:

OS overhead (linux-based)

–dennis

Excuse me?  Why should linux take part of the blame here? I have a Thecus and a QNAP, both linux based, not that much more expensive than a sharespace and faster by a factor of many.

The problem with the sharespace is poor planning, poor design. poor implementation, poor performance. It is a sum of it’s parts but the OS chosen  should not take the blame IMO.

+1