Using My Book Live from another network to stream video

Hi I’m new to community, just after some advice from you experts out there as i’m getting rather fustrated with the purchase of my new my book live, because I was told its one of the easiest & compact NAS Server on the market. at the moment i’m finding it ok as far as using it on my own network within the house & using the mobile app

But my girlfriend & I are finding it very trouble some using it from her home:

Problems being:

1. Using it on her pc - can see my public, shared videos but cannot stream

2. Using it on PS3 - can’t see folders 

3. Using it on ipad - can see my public, shared videos, but stream isn’t fluent - but we’ve found it easier setting up on apple than with others.

Can anyone assist?

Luronzo wrote:

1. Using it on her pc - can see my public, shared videos but cannot stream

Can you even open a jpeg? Or try copying something from your public to gf’s computer for example. Tell me what transfer speeds windows report?

1.  It’s not going to stream to a PC.   It’s not designed for that – the file has to be copied completely before playback will begin.

2.  PS3?  Of course not…  You were expecting your PS3 to connect to it over the internet?

3.  That means the bandwidth between you and her isn’t sufficient.  Streaming works fine if the bandwidth is adequate.

She said she cannot copy video file from the shared video file to her pc even tho i’ve set her up as a full access user

Hi Tony so even tho using an ipad to watch a film from my book live in her house she has to copy the selected video file to the HD of the ipad before playback will run sufficient?

Also the PS3 will not even recognise anything, firstly brings up a java oracle page and doesn’t do nothing - but i’ve been reading alsorts about access problems between a my book live & a ps3.