Stream from MyCloud 4TB to a Samsung Smart LED?

Just bought a MyCloud 4TB in hopes to stream family videos and photos to a Samsung 65 smart LED.

On the MyCloud, I have done the streaming settings using the Dashboard.
On the Samsung, it sees MyCloud as an input source. But when I clicked on it, it doesn’t see anything – especially not the folder that I placed all the videos and photos.

I may not have set up correctly. I am not technical and I am seeing terms like Twonky and DLNA, which leave me dazed. And I don’t want to buy another WD TV media hub.

Can someone please share the directions if all possible? The directions to stream from a MyCloud to a Samsung LED.

Thank you very much.

The first few Q&A here should get you going:

By default, you need to put your media in the Public folder, but you can change this. The FAQ explains how.

Twonky is ugly.

Use the NAS as a NAS and install Plex on your computer. Samsung TVs have a Plex App which works fantastic. After that, you’ll never consider Twonky again.

Townky may be “ugly” but it generally works provided one has their media in a Twonky supported format and provided their DLNA client supports playback of that media format. There are a lot of pluses to using Plex, however the down side is the need to use a computer and the need for the Plex client on the playback device/TV. One might be better off going with Kodi on a cheep Android box (or Fire Stick). It all comes down to how one wants to use the My Cloud’s media server and one’s needs.

@KEN.MEEBO, if you want to use Twonky you will need to ensure your media is in a Twonky supported format. See the My Cloud User Manual for supported media formats.

Also search through this subforum and you’ll find that there are a number of prior discussions where people had trouble with the Samsung TV DLNA clients and the My Cloud. Some of those prior discussions may have additional ideas or suggestions.