Ridiculous Transfer Speeds - Please Help!

Hi Everyone,

Right i’ve been meaning to look into this problem for some time, but with work and family etc, I just didnt get the time… until now!

I’ve looked into this problem for a while, and it appears that many people have/have had this issue also, which is the transfer speeds (R/W) to the MyCloud devices. Mine is particularly bad… in fact its ridiculous!! So any help of ideas would be appreciated. My set up is as follows, and I’ve done the following also, to no avail…

Firstly, I work in IT, so I’d class myself as above average when it comes to this kind of stuff, and the terminology and how networks etc work…

So I have this…

2 x MyCloud 4TB Devices, both connected to an 8 port Gigabit Switch (Netgear GS108). Both ports on the switch have both link lights on, which means it’s connected at 1Gbps, not 10/100Mbps.

I’m aware that there are many factors that can affect speeds, ie. using wifi, size of files, allocation on disk etc etc, but both devices are connected to a 1Gbps switch, which means they can talk directly to each other, without going through the switch ports on my router, which i suspect at 10/100 (I would think).

When I do any kind of transfer between the devices, I’m getting between 2-3Mbps transfer speed! When as I understand it, they should be able to operate at around 80-90Mbps R/W.

I’ve followed the pinned post at the top of this forum, and turned off all of the suggested options on each device, Media Sharing, iTunes Server, Remote Access, Cloud Access etc etc… I’ve also SSH’d into both devices and stopped and disabled the services for database scanning. Both devices content scan are now IDLE. I’ve rebooted both devices, and still getting the same pathetic speeds?!!

The firmware on both devices are at v04.04.03-113, the latest firmware.