Record TV on My Cloud

Hi

Am a total noob to all this. I want to use My Cloud to record TV on 2 smart TV’s

1. Does My Cloud have to be plugged directly into the TV I wish to record/playback on or can this be done via wifi? (ideally what i would like)
  2. As both TV’s are a different brand would playback be limited to that of the TV it was recorded on?
  3. Would formatting My Cloud for TV mean I could not store other file formats (docs music etc)

Ideally I want to purchase a 2TB My Cloud and use it to store all my important files, record and playback TV and text the ex wife every day on the hour an expletive! lol

Help on this is much appreciated

I dont know of any smart tvs that support saving over LAN. some support saving over USB, but the MyCloud does not support being connected to a computer over USB.

What you might do is save onto a USB stick, then move the videos later onto the mycloud using a PC.

Most smart TVs will be able to use the DLNA server that is running on the mycloud to playback the files from that location. Just that I do not know of any smart tvs that support saving over NFS or SMB. (and DLNA is read only.)

The My Cloud is a network attached storage device. It is, at its base, a hard drive attached to the local area network from which computers and network devices can access to save/copy/delete data. It is not a “recorder” that is capable of recording from a “TV”.

Generally to record the content you watch on your TV would require a third device to record the signal coming into the TV to a NAS drive like the My Cloud device.

Now what you can do with a My Cloud device is save content to the My Cloud that you can play on a TV if that TV (or device connected to that TV) supports accessing a DLNA media server. The My Cloud includes a DLNA media server.

HI