PC Detects WD Elements Media Player but TV Does Not... Help?

Hey all

I’ve recently been having trouble with my 2TB WDE Elements Play.

To begin with I had no problems and stored a lot of fiolms, photos and so on there with no trouble at all. However, the other week I couldn’t get either a netbook, tablet or Smart Phone to see it… I lkeft it as I was going on holiday and I came back to it today, it DOES appear as a folder on my PC and I can access all the files and all the films work fine etc but when I connect it to the TV via HDMI cable, it says that the Internal Hard Disc cannot be located…

Any advice? I’m a bit of a novice so use simple wording please!

Thanks!

Try a different cable

have you recently updated the firmware or formatted the drive?

You can try doing a backup of all of your files and then press the reset button.

I’ll try a back up, can you tell me the best way to do that and then get all of my files back on it afterwards please? I have rather a lot of them. I’d hate to lose them all.

Also, is it better to cut and move my files to a pc which takeys hours, or back up?

Thanks

Wizer wrote:

Try a different cable

have you recently updated the firmware or formatted the drive?

Why would the HDMI cable influence the WEP in detecting the internal HD?!

A possible firmware update (with a wrong image) sounds much more likely.

Besides: before buying a new cable try a different HDMI port on the TV (on my Samsung one of the ports really broke and I wrongly blamed the HDD player).

Draddict wrote:
I’ll try a back up, can you tell me the best way to do that and then get all of my files back on it afterwards please? I have rather a lot of them. I’d hate to lose them all.

Also, is it better to cut and move my files to a pc which takeys hours, or back up?

Thanks

Just for the reset no backup is need, but a backup is a VERY good idea in any case.