Noob user questions

Hello guys
I’m getting a lot off questions here, first of all let me tell you I’m a noob in the nas world, so some questions will look to you guys as basic, sorry about that
since a long time I wanted a nas, not something very fancy, but something that I could use to backup my personal files and access it on the fly, but I’m getting problems

I think that everything is setup correctly, as soon as I plugged it, it updated to the latest version, created couple of users, upload
uploaded my files (it took me about 8 hours, but that’s not the problem) I can access it over internet, I’ve created a ddns to access the dashboard, and almost everything is working good, there is only some questions
The device is always working making a little noise as if it always on, with no prior experience I can’t tell if this is the normal behavior and the led lights are rather useless, as they are always on, as far as I can tell the power led its always on (no fading, dimming or whatever), my wife its pressuring me to return the unit and get a good old desktop external hard drive, because she can’t stand with the low noise
I’ve tried disable dlna, cloud access and still no fading power light and the noise continues, is this the normal behavior?

second, how can I monitor if the disk it’s being accessed? there’s some log in the dashboard that can give that information?

Hi Perksls,

let’s start with HD and LED behaviour.
First of all, have you configured on your EX2 the “Energy Saver” (Setting/Energy Saver/Drive Sleep) ?
This will put on sleep your NAS when unused for a while. Then, about LED this is a long story.
With new firmware WD decided to keep then ON also during the sleep phase (dumb decision) ans so the only way to switch them off is throught the tab immediatly after the Drive Sleep, but this will put then off “forever”.