A few questions from a newbie

Hello all, I am a newbie when it comes to this whole back up/ nas thing. I have a few questions, I would like to ask you all. If you finding reading all this bothersome you can skip down to the paragraph labeled problems and questions.
Background
I am generally ignorant when it comes to this whole back up/ nas thing. I did some preliminary research (did not do enough), watch some YouTube videos and read some amazon reviews. From this, I decided upon the ex2 (purchase the 8 tbyte model). I figured the ex2 would be a good device for a beginner to cut his teeth on.
Setup
I own a Surface Pro 2, that serves as my tablet, laptop and desk top (hook up to monitors, keyboard, mouse,.etc,). It is my everything device. I am not sure what type of router I have, it is one I got from Comcast (I will update this when I get home).
My Goal
Initially (my goals have changed, my new goals are listed further down), I was planning to back up my computer, all my files and essential programs. I was also planning to stream music and movies to my computer.
Concerns
I have no problem with learning as I go, my main concern however is making initial assumptions that I do not fully understand or that would negatively affect me later or long term (simple example would be changing the raid configuration). Which is why I am asking these questions.
Problems 1
After setting up my ex2, I realize that I may have over estimated my ability to achieve my goals with the ex2. There seems to be so many different options, software, etc. It kinda driving me nuts.
Questions 1

1. Whats the general consensus on some of the best software programs to back up a computer, files and essential programs as well as restoring my computer? How does the accompanying software from wd rank amongst these selections?
  2. Is there any other software I should be concerned about.getting?
    Problem 2