MyCloud EX2 Ultra - Unable to mount the USB device

Hi guys,

I am relatively new to this environment, so please don’t shoot me if I ask stupid questions.

I recently got 4x 6TB WD RED from my employer so I purchased a WD MyCloudEX2Ultra for some home backup purposes. The installation went just fine, I added two HDDs to the 2 bays, they got formatted accordingly and everything works fine. My problem is with the 2 other HDDs. I have an external SATA slot housing where I can attach them, they get separate power and an USB connection from where I have attached it to the NAS.

I have read already on these forums, that the USB 3.0 doesn’t deliver enough power to the external USB hard drives, but mine is separately powered up, so theoretically, it should work. When I attached it to the NAS, I got an error message in the notification are, saying “Unable to mount the USB device. Please check the USB device. Code:1124”

Now, I have also read here, that the external USB drives need to be specially formatted in order to get correctly recognized. The problem with this part is, that I have tried to format it from my Windows 11 machine, however, it only recognizes 2TBs from the 6TBs, none of the formatting options (NTFS, exFAT, FAT32, etc.) worked. Apparently, it is due the HDD function as it is intended to be used with NAS only (got this info also from a forum somewhere, please correct me if it is wrong).

I tried to attach my 1TB USB memory stick in the NAS USB slots, that didn’t work either.
I restarted the device, it didn’t resolve the issue.
I upgraded the firmware (it was the first thing to do when I unpacked it), it is currently the version 5.27.157

Could someone please point me in the right direction?
Thank you all in advance. :pray:

It sounds like the drives are partitioned using MBR. They must be GPT partitioned or it won’t work.

1 Like

Hello Cerberus, Thank you for your reply

Yes, I missed that information in my initial message.
I tried both ways: