My cloud replacement options

I have a 3tb mycloud device I have been using for 8 years. Like a lot of people I am forced to upgrade and don’t want the mycloud home device. Right now I am considering either the 12tb my book connected to my asus ax6600, or the ex2 ultra. The my book would be cheaper. Not sure if the ex2 ultra would give me anything the other connected via usb to my router would not. I mostly use the device for data storage and stream movies stored on it to my tv over kodi. Not currently using plex. I also have a iPhone back up and iTunes library saved on it. Thanks for the help.

How are you being forced to upgrade? Your My Cloud will continue to work for local network access just as it does now.

My Cloud OS3 End of Service

Q: Will my device stop working if I can’t upgrade to My Cloud OS 5? Will I lose access to my data?
A: Once the services have been shut down, you will still be able to access the device on a local network. However, access through the My Cloud OS 3 mobile app or web app will not be possible. Email notifications also won’t be delivered. Devices that have auto-update enabled will receive a final firmware update to disable remote access and outbound traffic to cloud services. Then, support will end and you’ll have to use the local network to access the device.

As is often suggested every time threads like this are posted since WD announced the termination of OS3 support. Don’t limit yourself to just WD. If you want a network attached storage device (NAS), look at other manufactures including Synology and QNAP. Make an informed decision and choice by looking at all the options.

The My Book typically is an external USB hard drive, not a NAS. The My Cloud EX2 Ultra while popular, relies on the OS5 firmware. Read through the OS5 subforums, in particular the EX2 subforum (https://community.wd.com/c/os5/my-cloud-ex-series/255) to gain a better understanding of the various issues others are having with OS5 firmware on their EX2 Ultra’s.