Just bought a 4TB MY CLOUD (RECERTIFIED) -some questions

Hi everyone

I just bit on a great price for a 4TB WD My Cloud (refurb) - https://www.wdc.com/en-gb/products/wd-recertified/my-cloud.html?gclid=Cj0KCQjwkd3VBRDzARIsAAdGzMDH8rKklLaFyTkRmYTAuMqxf_G-o0sFABT5tdjEgit_wVrMInIMI1gaAhiVEALw_wcB#RWDBCTL0040HWT-EESN

And now I have some qs - Sorry if these are newbie, but - er, I am a newbie, and the threads seem to go back some years, Shout if I’m being an i-d-i-o-t

I’m aware that refurb HDDs come with some of their own issues - and will have an actual offsite backup for anything I put on it. I’m also not planning on attempting 4k video realtime across a wifi network :slight_smile:

Before it arrives, I am trying to work out how to make best use of it. My background - 20 years of using GNU/Linux at home and work, competent with Solaris/*BSD and Samba/ZFS/sshfs.

Went for this to - basically- stick family pics on and retire an ageing linux box with a few USB drives attached

I am interested in a couple of things that aren’t immediately obvious and I wondered if anyone could shed some light.

• There seems to be a firmware jump - from 2* to 4* - I can’t work out which my NAS will come with. any way to tell before it arrives?
  • It looks like it’s full of 'features* that aren’t (eg no powerdown in software) - correct?
  • If I set it up stock and then (as maybe will happen) the various addons and poor optimisation ( that it appears to comes with, eg IO or indexing) is there a way to reduce it to a factory-supported NAS - eg just NFS/CFS mount and EXT4 drive?
  • If the above doesn’t work, is there a current recipe for Debian (or close) that won’t void warranty/ 30 day return?
  • I will prioritise reliability and steady read/write over ‘performance’ - any tips?

Basically, I have low expectations, but if it does what I want, it’s a steal at £75 (85USD), and I am happy to play around with it to get it into shape.