iTunes server versus File sharing

First, let’s say that I’m new to iPod and iTunes, and that I just bought a WD My Book Live .

I want to access the music (and photos) from many PC.

What I’m trying to determine is what is the benefit of setting up an iTunes server, vs.  just pointing my music folders to the same location.

Thanks for helping,

Gast.

The benefit to using an iTunes service is that all the info will show on you itunes and airplay devices automatically. Without it, you have to configure itunes to import those locations into your iTunes library.

Thanks, I think I see the benefits.

When I press “Reanalyse” in the WDMBL iTunes section, does that mean that all media will indexed in the iTines database of the server and made available to all iTunes clients (those allowed) ? Do we have to ask for “reanalysing” or will the iTunes server do it by itself sometimes ?

Thanks

Gast.

The answer to Q1 is YES.   To Q2:  I don’t actually know.

Thanks again.

Is there any difference between this indexation and the one done directly by the iTunes client ? I read someting about the “cover” ?

Gast.

…and, after syncing the iPod, where is the music that mas  in the My Book Live shared section of the iTunes client ?

Gast

You CANNOT SYNC from an iTunes server.

It’s only there to make the files available to iTunes software and airplay devices.  

Then I’m no longer of the advantages. Taking into account that I can include in my local iTunes library any directory on any disk, what is the “plus” ? (just trying to figure it out)

Gast

Like I said:   It will show on ANY iTunes client on your network (WITHOUT having to configure iTunes to find it; it’s discovered by using Bonjour protocol), and AirPlay devices can find it, too.

TonyPh12345 wrote:

You CANNOT SYNC from an iTunes server.

It’s only there to make the files available to iTunes software and airplay devices. 

What I’m trying to understand: 

• with the WD iTunes server