How to Delete .wdmc files and prevent creation

hello, I am a novice and would like to find out how to delete the .wdmc files and to stop creating them. I have seen the other posts about using command lines but don’t understand it. is there a way to do this easily in the settings or some other way? It seems ridiculous to me that this is a default function of this device, there should be a place in the web interface to turn it on and off… Am I missing something?

Thanks

I have seen the other posts about using command lines but don’t understand it.

You don’t really have to understand; you just have to follow the instructions carefully.

is there a way to do this easily in the settings or some other way?

No, hence the numerous threads with instructions.

It seems ridiculous to me that this is a default function of this device, there should be a place in the web interface to turn it on and off…

Yes, there should. But, sadly, there isn’t.

It’s a default function of the device to support cloud access to photos.

Am I missing something?

No.

thanks, but I don’t know how to install samba… I downloaded but it is way over my head…

Install samba? What instructions are you talking about? You don’t need to install samba.

The thread you want is here.

how do I ssh into my device?

You could read the User Manual, or search the online support, or read this.

You will need an SSH client, such as PuTTY

Here is a step-by-step instruction for what you want to do:

1. Enable SSH
  • login to your WDMyCloud dashboard ( http://wdmycloud/ ) → go to Settings → Network → and set  SSH to  ON
  1. Download Putty, an SSH client

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/​​download.html

- install it on your computer

1. Open Putty and connect to WDMyCloud via SSH
  • Enter the IP address of your WDMyCloud in the  Host Name ( or IP Address ) field.

• Click Open on the bottom to connect