Hidden .wdmc directories created by mcserver and photodbmerger and the deletion of them

Although I have been very very happy with my WD Cloud device, I am extremely disappointed in the amount of tweaking that I had to do in order to smooth out my purchase.

Since I am a professional photographer, I have well over a million photos on the 4TB MyCloud along with a large collection of mp3’s, movies, ebooks and much more. When I owned a WD Live, the device was constantly indexing and now that my photos are also on the same device, I would get no response from the device because of WD converting of my photos into thumbnails. This thrashing causes the two common problems, 1. WD disconnecting from the network and 2. no response when plugging in a USB drive. In both instances, the device starts thrashing due to the scan.

Even though I have stopped the two services, scattered across my cloud device are thousands of .wdmc directories and I had to find a way to search and delete all the hidden directories. Since my PC uses Samba to connect to the device, I knew that Samba was hiding this directory from Windows and I had to unhide this.

So here are the steps to help you stop the scans (don’t do this if you are using twonky or DLNA) and delete all the .wdmc hidden folders using windows explorer. Sorry I don’t have a method for the Mac.

SSH to the device and lets stop the two services:

/etc/init.d/wdmcserverd stop

/etc/init.d/wdphotodbmergerd stop

to keep it from restarting after a reboot 

update-rc.d wdphotodbmergerd disable

update-rc.d wdmcserverd disable

1. head over to /etc/samba and

mkdir no

mv  smb-global_veto.conf no

Basically this hides the veto file from Samba, allowing the following hidden files to show up in Windows Explorer (.nflc_data, .wdmc and .twonky) 

1. service samba restart