How can I improve network connection? Very slow uploads to WD EX4100

Hi together,

I use the WD WDMyCloudEX4100 system for a bit now. I have some issues with the upload speed which appears to be very slow (couple mbit/s). A data package of 100 GB needs way over 10 hours to upload to the server. This is not how I planned to use the NAS and a bit inconvenient.

The main use-case is to store my photos (I’m a photographer). So I often upload 32 - 64 Gb and more to the cloud to store them. I need to access these photos quickly and sometimes work with them in my workflow.

The WD device is connected to a router from my ISP (Vodafone) via ethernet cable. My computer (MacBook) is connected to the router via wifi and ethernet cable.
I tried to use the wifi connection as well as a LAN connection (MacBook connected via ethernet cable to the router) but experience very slow transfer rates in both ways.

To access the NAS I use the “Connect to server” option in the Macs Finder and log-in on the following window.

Following you’ll find my network settings:

Can you help me in this case? Do I have the wrong setup?
I assume that the computer only uses the connection via wifi (which still is very slow for that) and not via the ethernet cable. Can you give some advice on how to improve the data transfer speed?

Thanks in advance!

Is your router gigabit Ethernet?

Yes, it has 4x 1.000 Mbit connections

Are you on OS5?
Is the NAS done indexing your content for web access? As it could slow operation down…

Is the MacBook connected with gigabit speed to the router?

Another option would be to use the USB ports on your NAS to upload directly the content of your memory card?

So. . .have you recently upgraded to OS/5?
If the unit is still indexing. . . . .forget it. The device will be utterly useless until indexing is complete.

What kind of speed (mbs) are you getting?
Wireless connection will ALWAYS be slow. . . .although it shouldn’t take 10 hours for 100GB.