Here are 7 reasons why I now wish to use WDMC as an anger management device

I’m an iMac and MacBook Pro owner, plus iPads, MB Air’s, 3 iPhones, Time Capsule, Apple TV 2 & 3 in house… didn’t realise what an Apple victim I was until I wrote that.

Connected iMac to Virgin Media Super Hub 2 router via gigabit Ethernet ports using CAT 5e cable. WD MC connected to router via gigabit and CAT 5e on a static IP. Might as well be connected via a piece of cooked spaghetti though.

1. WD MC is slow… so painfully and embarrassingly slowwwww. I mean, it’s crazy. If I want to save/access a file directly on the MC, it takes 30 secs of spinning rainbow wheels to open a .pages doc. It’s pathetic. Avg. 5MBps write speed - VIA Gb ETHERNET.
    1. I open the MC app on my iPhone sometimes to dare to watch a film, two things happen:
  • 2a. My WD MC device is offline. Even though its not, but there you go. Cant fix this issue. So the MC just sits there doing nothing for anyone.
  • 2b. After 5 mins or so my shares pop up and I search for the film I want but search returns an error. Search NEVER works.
  • 2c. BONUS ITEM - You see the film, with your heart pounding you click it to watch it and a white screen appears. That’s it. No film, just a white screen with a cute little “done” button in the corner for when you’ve finished watching your screen of “F.A.”.
    1. The browser accessed dashboard now displays NO information! Nothing! No remaining space, no share numbers… its just a nice screen of grey boxes with nothing in them!
    1. Logging into the Dashboard (and every subsequent screen within the DB) takes aaaaaaaages. 
    1. Bought it for its “iTunes server capabilities”. What?? I can have all my media on the MC?? Wow! Oh no hang on, once purchased you find out the **bleep** doesn’t stream video! hahahaha… brilliant. What a con artist that salesman was!
    1. It unmounts from my Macs ALL day long. You mount it, sometime later… it’s gone! Excellent.