EX2 remote help!

Let me preface this by saying that I am fairly tech savvy but this is my first venture into NAS/networking.  I apologize in advance for the lengthy post but it has allowed me to collect my thoughts!  

I just purchased, received and hooked up a new EX2 on Wednesday 4/2/2014.  I hooked everything up according to the instructions that came with the drive.  When I am on my home network it seems to function flawlessly.  I can access the dashboard, change settings in the MyCloud, etc.  It doesn’t seem like I have any trouble within my home network accessing the cloud.  Just for the record after setup I have three icons (internet shortcuts) to the WD MyCloud EX2 learning center, WD MyCloud EX2 Dashboard and the WD MyCloud EX2 Public Share.  I also successfully setup my account to use wd2go.com 

1.   I have enabled cloud access through the dashboard as I plan to use it remotely while I am at work (I am a teacher).  I was able to set up my android mobile device to access the mycloud and it functions correctly, even remotely.  I cannot however access the EX2 remotely from my windows based PC.  When i follow the directions provided in the “WD MyCloud EX2 learning center” to set up cloud access it tells me to download the WD MyCloud Desktop App.  I click on the link, download it but nothing happens.  Either it’s not installing fully or has already been installed on the computer.  It ends the installation process saying it is complete but I can’t find any evidence of it on my computer (unless it’s related to the three icons I referred to earlier).  

2.  When I go to wd2go.com and login I see my EX2.  When I click on the picture of the EX2 or on tab labeled “shares” it takes me to a screen that says “Get Apps” and won’t let me go any further except to download software.  What’s up with this?  I thought that was how I was supposed to access the EX2 remotely outside of my home network??