DVD recorder back up

Is it possible for me to transfer films from my DVD recorder to MYCloud? And, can it be done wirelessly. I’m a technical novice and I’ve got the TV and the MYCloud networked. I’d like to know if I can connect the DVD recorder as well.

You can transfer converted MP4 files (you will need to bring your own software to do that) to the mycloud by copying them onto the network share.

Sadly, the mycloud itself has no knowledge of DVD media. Plugging such a device in directly on the USB port will not result in a mounted device, at least not to my knowledge. (IIRC, the support for virtual CD drives is a feature of the EX2 and bigger class devices, and the features lack the needed goodies in the MyCloud consumer options, meaning the FS drivers needed just arent there. I would have to double check that though.)

A typical DVD recorder records an MPEG-2 stream onto a disc. Sounds like what you want instead is a kind of consumer friendly DVR, that can save onto an SMB share. (Aside from community made ones that run on Linux, you wont find these. For some reason, DVR makers just love locking down the files they create behind layers and layers of obfuscation to keep the user from copying them off the DVR and onto other devices.)

What model is it?

Does it have an Ethernet port, or WiFi?

I have an old Humax PVR. I can pull out the HDD, plug it in to a spare SATA socket, and run a utility (humaxrw) to pull off the .ts files. But it’s not HD; IIRC, either the DVB or Freeview HD spec says HD recordings must be encrypted.

More information is needed. What model/brand DVD recorder do you have? Are the films stored on the DVD recorder or are you just copying DVD’s with the recorder? Is that DVD recorder networked (connected via ethernet) to the same local network as the My Cloud?