Compatibility issues with WD TV HD media player and attached USB 3.0 device

Bear with me, I am not tech savvy…

I have a WD TV HD media player which has worked fine for the last 3 years or so with attached USB devices for my stored media content. Previously attached USB devices were, WD MyBook and ancient Maxtor HDD. I recently acquired a Seagate USB3.0 device for increased capacity but the WD TV box fails to detect it, listing it as an unsupported device. The only thing that has changed is the USB3.0 capability (even though it is USB2.0 backwards compatible.

Any ideas on updates etc that may fix the problem. So far the only solution has been to move media content BACK to the previous working HDD and watch them from there. This is a headache because it basically involves moving required content between drives in order to watch it, whereas the higher capacity device has simply become a straightforward storage device unable to be detected through the WD TV device. I have updated the firmware on the WDTV device to the latest available.

Any ideas and working suggestions will be highly appreciated. 

LSPLSN, what size is your new external drive?

The older one was a 2TB and the new one is a 3TB. I have read some of the other forums and apparently drives larger than 2TB are not supported. Im attempting to repartition the drive to see if that will temporarily solve the problem.

Nope.  I’m fairly certain that you’re stuck with 2TB as a maximum.  If you do manage to somehow trick the WDTV into detecting the 3TB drive, you’re likely to run into issues with corruption and damaged/missing files.

Ok, repartitioning to smaller volumes failed as well. Could this perhaps be a combination problem with the USB 3.0 too? Need to get my hands on a smaller 2TB drive now to see if that solves this issue. So much for thinking bigger. Need to know so that i can get a USB2.0 device instead of the 3.