Backup of multiple cards creates a mess

I am new to the My Passport Wireless Pro and expected cards to be backed up in full, as my other backup devices have always done, but I found that the MPWP backup tries to be smart and avoid backing up the same file twice. In the process, it created a holly mess, with files and folders from two different video cameras mixed, some files not backed up, and overall confusion that I have now spent more than a day trying to resolve and it seems that I have lost some critical files.

First, why does this happen? Second, how can I have full backups with no intervention from the drive? I don’t want the drive to help me, I just want to know that the entire structure of my backed up card is there!

Are you using the same SD card between the two cameras you have? Do you see this problem if separate cards are used? The MPWP uses the UUID in the SD card to distinguish. Sometimes the card vendor does not have proper UUID on the card and the camera may format and create one. This may be the confusion. If that’s the case, then the workaround would be to use two separate cards as MPWP copies new files only.

I use separate cards. In fact, the cameras were used at the same time (different angles). The cards are all 64GB SanDisk, new models. The folders created on the drive showed the card ID, but the files were mixed.
There was another issue, since I had to clear one of the cards overnight, that the second day backup didn’t cover all files as they had the same names as the previous day’s files.
Again, what I want is a full backup, no intervention, and I don’t care of files are backed up more than once. I want to know that the backup of a card on a specific point in time is an image of the card at the time, with no reference to any other backup. Really, anything else doesn’t work for me.