Accessing files remotely through file explorer Win 10

I am new to the NAS scene and am struggling to find answers.

I moved to the EX2 Ultra after trying the My Cloud Personal because it wouldn’t allow me to segregate files/folders between users, but it would allow me to install the WD app from the Windows store and access the NAS through File Explorer.
I believed that a business version would have similar functionality but more control.

In a nutshell, I have the NAS unit at home, plugged into my modem. I can access it via the My Cloud site, but want to be able to use it “like a server” in that files are shared and re-saved to the same folder so that I only have 1 version.

Is this possible and if so, if someone could point me in the direction of the answer, I would really appreciate it. I have spent hours searching to no avail. I can access the files through File Explorer while I am on the same network at the NAS, but I lose that ability once I am remote.

Hi @ScottHutchings,

Please contact the WD Technical Support team for best assistance and troubleshooting:
https://support-en.wd.com/app/ask

Thanks … I have done that with no response at all.

The only way that you are going to be able to do that is with VPN and connecting to your router. All other ways are going to have to be done via a web portal.

That is just the way things are. You don’t want to expose your device to the “World” when you are remote.

You have to realize that is the way networks work. The file system is mounted to your computer within your network. Once you leave your own network, it doesn’t know how to talk to your device due to your new address.

That is interesting since the My Cloud Personal with the WD app did just what I was looking for.

I’m very confused why a business application like this wouldn’t provide “server-like” functionality.
Oh well, WD’s loss … I will be returning my unit.
Thank you for clarifying.