WD Mybook Essential Basic Troubleshooting Question

Dear WD Community,

hello my name is damsilon, i just bought WD my book essential 2TB 3.5 inches today, i have a question regarding it however.

I’m not good with IT, and I’d like to ask…

1. how to properly turn off the mybook essential and unplug it? What is the correct step?

=> ps: Usually I used 2.5 external hdd, so today I tried the normal way of right click => safely remove hardware, (but even after I safely remove hardware), I saw the Mybook Essential is still on  Power ON state . I mean, i can see from above that the HDD light is still on

1. I haven’t installed WD Smartware at all (I don’t think i will need the software), the only thing I have installed is the WD SES driver.

=> Do I need to install WD smartware to safely remove hardware?

1. When I wanted to power off the mybook essential, is it safe to push the power off button while the external HDD is still connected to my PC?

2. Also when I tried to turn off the mybook essential by pushing the power button, the hdd does not respond. I have to hold the power off button for 5-10 seconds to get it turned off. Is this normal? It feels like forced restart to me >_<.

So basically my question is what is the correct step-by-step to unplug and turn off WD mybook essential 3.5 inches HDD, and what things is considered improper handling of turn power off / unplug? Also what software do I need to install for power off / unplug?

Lastly, i’d like to ask, on the My Book Essential folder, there is a dotnetframework35 exe file. I tried to install that, and now i got this folder on the My Book disk

is this normal and, may i ask what can i do to undo it? I mean, i’d like to delete and uninstall that folder, may i ask what is the correct step to do so?

thank you very much and i wish everyone who take their time to answer this question have a great day,

damsilon