WD Backup Fails To Recognize Passport

I’ve been using an old 1 TB Passport using WD SmartWare for many years with few problems. I’ve just purchased a new 3 TB Passport. I’ve renamed the two Passports so they’re different. The new passport will accept files transferred from the old one. I’ve run a ‘Drive Status Check’ which the new drive passed. I’ve downloaded the newest WD Backup program (which fails to appear on the ‘All Programs’ list. Upon installing the new WD Backup program, when it automatically asks “Select You WD Storage Device…” I get “No Backup Targets Found. Rescan” which fails to find the new drive (which appears under “Computer”. I have not removed WD Smartware (which, BTW, is what opens when I open WD Discovery but which was only installed with the new drive). Is that a conflict? Please advise.

1 Like

Hi,

1. WD Backup will not appear in any list except as an app on WD Discovery. It is not an executable program. The initial WD Backup is a setup activity.

2. WD Backup, Wd Drive Utilities, WD Security, and WD Smartware should all appear as Apps in the WD Discovery.

3. All Drives (or partitions} should appear in the WD Discovery Devices list with the amount of Available space.

4. Your new drive may not be recognized for several reasons: A. Bad USB connection, B. USB connection through a hub, C Windows 10 problem, D. and others. Look through WD Knowledge Base for Passport troubleshooting.

I hope this helps.

Cliff

Please see below:

*N**OTE: This is a prior message, rejected due to containing more than
two images, now sent in parts.

Hi,

Did you download WD Backup and WD Security? I know it sounds screwy, but you do need to download them.

Also I think your new Passport is not being recognized because it has the same name as the older one. Try renaming using Disk Management. Select the drive and then Properties.

Cliff

Hi Clifford,

I may not have downloaded them from the site previously, but have done