Potential buyer...Is My Cloud usefull at 100 mb?

From all of the talk I see about slow transfers I wonder if the My Cloud (3 TB) would be usefull at 100 mb. I do have 1000 available, but my switches are all 100. I also believe that the router from Frontier FIOS, is 100 mb. and do not know if 1000 is even available.

Anyway, we just want to access DATA, like excel files and Quicken data. My wife wants to be able to backup her Android based Droid Maxx phone as well. Can I do this? As some have said, I CAN convert to GB switches and plug the router into one of them. At least I should have Gigabit transfers in the house…which is good, and have the router plugged into one port on the switch, but somewhere I read that that is no good.

So, what am I missing here?

I can’t answer most of your questions, I’m fairly new to the MyCloud myself. I’m going thru the (seemingly) common growing pains with it… but I am positive I’ll come out on the other side much better.

Basically, from what I can tell this early into being a User of this device is that…no… you’ll need 1000 and that 100 won’t cut it!

Well, I hope I CAN use it. I can understand that 1000 is good for video, although my TIVO’s are fine at 100, but I am just looking to share data files and have them updated so that any system in the house can get the current data.

From what I’ve done so far … I’d really try and get everything at 1000. I’ve storing mostly photos and even still 1000 is pretty necessary for it with the MyCloud.

Well, I can see if Frontier has a gigabit router.

Does the 3 TB My Cloud come in GPT format, or doesn’t it matter?

you don’t need a gigabit router or even switches. unless your Internet service is over 100Mbps upgrading the router won’t help.