Port forwarding

I know that there are a lot of posts writen about this topic stil I am struggeling to get it done.

When setting the MyCloud on port 9080 and 9443 and a static IP192.168.2.51, that is outside my DHCP pool for the other computers and printers on the LAN. looking with a port scanner to 192.168.2.51 I cannot see the ports 9080 and 9443 as open. is that normal? and when using virtual server rules (belkin router) to open the ports the same on my router ports not open but closed. I am a novice here so all help is welcome.

Yes, this is normal. On your local network, the NAS keeps the ports 80 and 443 to work. When a connection comes from the outside though, on the ports 9080 or 9443 of your router WAN side, your router will forward the traffic to your NAS on the corresponding ports.

Make sure you have set up the port forwarding in the router, and that you have specified in the NAS which ports your have setup.

Etupes wrote:

Yes, this is normal. On your local network, the NAS keeps the ports 80 and 443 to work. When a connection comes from the outside though, on the ports 9080 or 9443 of your router WAN side, your router will forward the traffic to your NAS on the corresponding ports.

Make sure you have set up the port forwarding in the router, and that you have specified in the NAS which ports your have setup.

looking at the settings does it make sense to you?> Still no>

>

After having so many problems after first buying the My Cloud, thinking the problems were on my end, even though they were from the wdmycloud servers having problems, I thought I would help you on this problem I was actually having for a while after I finally got the relay connection to work, but not the port-forwarding.

I was setting up port forwarding to have the Global Port Range be 8080 - 8080 and the Base Host Port for that be 8080 for the unsecure ports and the Global Port Range be 8443 - 8443 and the Base Host Port for that be 8443 for the secure ports.