Mybookliveduo - looks to have formatted itself

I have been using the liveduo for last 2 years, it has 2 4tb drives and I use it as a 4tb nas with a backup drive incase of disasters.
Last night I was listening to audiobook on my phone through mycloud app, it got to end of the chapter and then could not connect again to play the next chapter. As it was late and I was in bed I left it untill this morning to reboot the Nas.
When I tried to access the dashboard using my pc it looks as though both drives have been formatted. I get the main screen to select a language and a button to Start setting up the nas…everything has gone,I had around 3.5tb of files but not anymore.
Could it have updated f/w or is it most likely a hardware issue ?
I have read previous posts on here about using linux ect to try to save my files, would it be worth trying this method…I have never used linux but willing to try anything at the minute.

Could it be the same issue a number of us experienced last night: Help! All data in mybook live gone and owner password unknown

oh wow, yep exact same issue.Thanks for the link I will follow that thread and see what happens, doubt we will get our data back though tbh.

Yes same happen to my Live Book Duo.All gone even the back up I am devastated! All my files and 20 years of travel photos just gone!

Yep lost everything, can’t believe the backup drive got wiped too. Never gonna buy any WD stuff again.

I’ve had issues getting into mylive duo over the last few days. I tried last night to get into it via app and also via PC. Mine also looks like all my files have disappeared.

When I click on the icon to access my drive, it’s only showing shared folders, with nothing in them. I’ve seen this b4 but a simple unplug the the nas drive reset it. This time nothing.

I even tried to put the HDs into q caddy to see if it was a network issue, but even that came up blank.

Deffo think this time my files has disappeared for ever. Well unhappy.