MY Book Live 2TB stuck at yellow light blinking

My Book Live 2TB stuck at blinking yellow light after power outrage and reboot. Any solution for this? 

The power outage disrupts the MBL. When the MBL restarts, it does an analysis of the entire drive. Depending on how much data you have on it, this can take a long time.  Sometimes 2 days.  You shouuld let the MBL run for a few days to see if it progresses from yellow light to green.  Yellow light means initializing.

If after a week of the MBL running and it is still yellow, then debrick it using a guide from this forum.  In this case, you can surmise that that the OS got currupted on the power outage.

1 Like

Thank you wdlive76. I’m very new to this debricking thing. So a l have numerous questions running through my mind.

1. Will i be able to recover my data
  2. My hard disk is still usable?
  3. How do I reinstall my corrupted OS.

Thanks and regards,

EeebZ wrote:
Thank you wdlive76. I’m very new to this debricking thing. So a l have numerous questions running through my mind.

1. Will i be able to recover my data
  2. My hard disk is still usable?
  3. How do I reinstall my corrupted OS.

Thanks and regards,

1. you will not lose your data

2. Your disk should be still usable - unless something else happened to it also

3. The debrick process will reinstall the OS.

1 Like

My MBL is in steady yellow light mode. I will wait for one week then decide how to proceed. Thanks for your guide, wdlive76.

If a simple power outage can disturb MBL so easily, i will say this product is so unreliable. Can any one suggest alternative brand which do not have this issue?

:stuck_out_tongue:

Any device with a hard drive will suffer same faith. The way to avoid it? A  UPS or proper backups.

Or build/buy a NAS/Server with dual power supplies. Very expensive though…

Do you think I will ba able to recover data if I remove the hard disk from MBL(now continuous blue light) and insert it into a new Cloud Ex2?

EeebZ wrote: