How do I map the mycloud to my file explorer on windows 11

here’s my issue I want to have it so i can access my cloud through my file explorer on windows 11 form anywhere with internet. i tried doing the ftp thing and go it to map but it throws an error saying folder doesn’t exist or i don’t have permission. how can i make this work I’ve been racking my brain on this for a week. this is my first time even touching a NAS so please understand that i have no prior knowledge of port forwarding, ftp servers, NAS setup, or the sort. thank you very much for any help you can offer.

You will likely have to setup your own VPN server on the local network containing the My Cloud. Then use a VPN client on the computer to create a VPN tunnel to access that network from remote locations. With a properly setup VPN server/client one should be able to create aVPN tunnel and map shares on a remote My Cloud. Plenty of VPN server/client DIY guides on the internet.

ok thank you very much for the response. ill look into that, just to save myself a headache does anyone know a specific video that goes over this? i have never done anything like this before. and by VPN client does that mean i have to pay for a VPN service like Nordvpn?

@Sloth1246
Is this what you own, a second generation WDMYCLOUD with OS5?
WDMyCloudImage

VPN services like the one you cited are for OUTGOING traffic. To secure your data when going OUT to the internet (and mask from where you are actually located)

What you need is a VPN that secures your data coming INTO your network from the internet.

Essentially, you need a few things;

• Need to know you WAN address (you know. . .how to find YOUR network from anywhere in the world). Your router will be assigned a WAN address from your ISP (internet service provider). Complication here is that WAN address gets reassigned periodically.