From a frying pan (My Cloud) to another frying pan (EX2)

I’ve been keeping an eye on the EX2 since my purchase last year of which I returned the ex2 unopened. Once again I am might be doing this dance of buying/holding/returning since it is on sale again but this might be the last time I will see the ex2 available since they are most likely discontinued.

The one major question that I do wish to have answered, before I rip open the box, is:

if I removed one of the drive filled with data in raid 1 (mirror), can I throw it on a USB Dock and mounted the drive on a Mac and will I see my data?

The other question I have is, how loud is the fan? I’ve been enjoying fan less My Clouds for the last 4 years and the last thing I need is something that doesn’t sleep, goes chunka-chunka-chunka with whirling noises.

I have bought:
1 WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra 16TB NAS with 3 year Geek Squad protection Replacement Plan
1 Thermaltake Black USB 3.0 Duet HDD Docking Station
1 WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra Diskless NAS

I hate putting all my eggs in one basket so I figure I need that extra EX2 Diskless NAS just in case my EX2 fails at some point in time.

If I do decide to keep it, my testing will entail

1. taking one drive out, plugging it into the Thermaltake and seeing if I can read the data.
  2. taking both drives from one EX2 and plugging it into the other EX2 to see if the drives boot up without problems.
  3. taking one drive out and plugging it into the other EX2 and use it to read the data
  4. pull one drive out and continue to write more data to the EX2 and then plug the drive back in to see how long it takes to sync, does it sync all the data or just the changes?

other questions may be if I were to throw in a smaller mirror drive but large enough to contain all the data of the first drive, can I mirror it?

Does anyone else have any questions that they wish to have answered please post up below…