Firmware & OS-5

Please know that I’m not tech savvy. My son set up a NAS system for me several years ago. I keep getting e-mails that my support is changing and I need to upgrade to OS-5. However, as best I can tell from the research I’ve done, it’s not available for my particular My Cloud. I’m assuming I can still use my system? Or do I need to purchase a new one?

Also, I’ve been trying to determine which Firmware version is on My Cloud, but I can’t figure out how to access that information either.

I appreciate any help/suggestions.

Account the My Cloud Dashboard. It will show the firmware version.

How to Access the Dashboard on a My Cloud Device
https://support-en.wd.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/27432

My Cloud OS3 End of Service
https://www.westerndigital.com/mycloudupdates

Q: Will my device stop working if I can’t upgrade to My Cloud OS 5? Will I lose access to my data?
A: Once the services have been shut down, you will still be able to access the device on a local network. However, access through the My Cloud OS 3 mobile app or web app will not be possible. Email notifications also won’t be delivered. Devices that have auto-update enabled will receive a final firmware update to disable remote access and outbound traffic to cloud services. Then, support will end and you’ll have to use the local network to access the device.

The following My Cloud models do not support being updated to OS5:

My Cloud (P/N: WDBCTLxxxxxxx-00)
My Cloud Mirror
My Cloud EX2
My Cloud EX4

Thanks for the information. One more question please. (Again, excuse my ignorance.) If My Cloud is connected to my wifi modem, I assume that constitutes a local network, and I’ll still be able to use it?

Would your recommendation be to purchase a new My Cloud that has OS 5 (or can be upgraded to OS 5)?