Fan Replacement

I’m getting intermittent alerts that the fan has failed. Has anyone here either tried to “blow out” the fan to clear however much dust might be in it after so many years, or actually replaced the fan? Any tips from experience appreciated.

Hello,

I have never tried this before.
Lets see if another user has tried and can share some experience with us.

i also have the same problem.

i have contacted the service provider and distributor of WD where i bought the item but they cant fix it and because its out of warranty (because of time) they cant replace it. they cant offer me any solution and its been months since i cant use my WDDX4000.

i am looking for a way to replace the fan. help will be appreciated.

i finally have found a way to do this and was able to get the defective fan out.

1- you unscrew the 5 screws behind the case. you pull the black outer case backwards and get it off.
2-get the disks out 1 by 1 and mark which disk goes where.
3- on two sides, there are 4 screw who are holding on to the metal support which your disks sata ports go in, you should unscrew those
4- unscrew the 5 screws which holds on the motherboard on the topand get it out.
5- get the sata ports part down.
6- unpin the fan and get it out.

now i am tryng to find a nice replacement fan. maybe a better one than which i took of.
The fan that it uses is: SUNON MAGLEV 90mmx90mmx25mm DC12v 1.3w 3 pin ME92251v3-000U-G99

i hope this helps. after i succeffully replace the fan and get it working i can maybe take some photos and put it here.

1 Like

I asked Digi-Key for a quote, (they carry Sunon)

Almost the same fan, slightly higher CFM. $10.

begin pasted message
Thank you for contacting Digi-Key Electronics. I have been unable to verify the part number ME92251V3-000U-G99. We offer the ME92251V2-000U-G99, but our version comes with a connector attached. Digi-Key part number 259-1658-ND.