Backup WD My Cloud to Netgear Ready Nas Over Another Network

Hi everyone, first off, sorry if this was posted into the wrong category. I’m fairly new to discussion threads and usually fight through the issue before seeking help however, I’m truly stumped here.

Overview:
I have a “WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra” and a “Netgear Ready Nas” that I bought as media storage devices. They both also run a plex server on them.
I decided to place the servers in 2 different cities, 1 at my place (WD My Cloud) and the other about 15 mi away at my brothers place, "Netgear Ready Nas).
I keep the WD My Cloud as the “Master storage device” and bought the Netgear Ready Nas as a backup of the WD My Cloud.

Problem:
The problem im having now is, I am not able to backup the Netgear Ready Nas that is at my brothers house from the WD My Cloud that is at my house; 2 different networks.
In the WD My Cloud, I set the network type to Static so the IP would not change, I also configured this in the router itself. Then I forwarded a port through the WD My Cloud and the router so that I can possibly do the backup through FTP Port Forwarding but I still cant seem to get it to work.
On the Ready Nas, I am able to configure this to backup from a device but it doesnt seem to work unless its over the same network. I thought If I forwarded a port and made my IP Static, it would give me a direct connection. What am I missing here?
Here is what is asked from me from the Ready Nas:

Type: “Remote” (Only option)
Name: “Remote: FTP”
Host: 192.168.0.*** (Host IP from WD My Cloud)
Path: Public (Path from WD My Cloud)
Login: admin (WD My Cloud login)
Password: ********** (WD My Cloud password)
And then I set the destination which is somewhere on the drive however this isnt “connecting” over another network. It only connects on the same network.

Configurations:
Router:

• Made IP Static (WD My Cloud)
  • Forwarded a port for FTP

WD My Cloud:

• Made IP Static
  • Forwarded port 21 for FTP access
  • Protocol is TCP