AVI's not working playing right over network

Ok I just hooked up my new wd live hd plus and all seemed to be good. The wifi connected fine and updated the firmware. Then I tried to stream a 1080p mkv file over my network. It played without a problem. Then I tried a AVI file that used xvid at 720p  and it started to play fine and then would freeze up and the audio would go. I then tried a AVI file that was at a lower resolution and it played for a second and the sound went out and the picture was like it was in slow mode or something. Now all of these files play fine when they are played off from a usb drive attached to the wd live plus. Anyone have any idea what is going on here? I have a popcorn hour in another room using the same network and all files play fine.

I’m new to blogging but have had a wd player for awhile and had to troubleshoot a lot of networking problems of my own. The first thing I’d ask myself is “can the files play on my computer” . I recommend VLC Media Player (it’s free, No spyware). Next I’d consider what kind of hardware I was running for my wireless network (is it a G router or an N router speed. Also check your USB network adapter speed. If you have a “N router” and  a “G adapter” you’ll get G speed. Next (what I did wrong) make sure that you’re network is shared through the router not your computers Network Adapter on the pc. The speed difference is incomparable. You could try to stream a small music file and see if it doesn’t lag.