4 TB My Cloud no longer accessible from server 2016

I have been using this 4 TB My cloud drive for about 4 years,

but i have to say that this thing is so un reliable.
The software is just plain clunky as can be.

The latest issue that is really making this thing useless to me is…

I have this mapped to a drive letter for a back up on my server 2016 machine.
well all of a sudden the mappings are just gone.

I had two different drive mappings to this drive.
This drive can no longer be found in the Network section of the server and the drive letters are of course x ed out.

If i go down at the bottom of the window the STORAGE section still shows it as WdMycloud and clicking on it brings up the ip address GUI and that works, Under the Media Devices it shows up and clicking on that brings up the worthless Twonky app.

So why is it that it will no longer be found when searching for network devices on my server?
I haven’t changed anything, In Fact it stopped working right in the middle of an unattended back up.

If anyone can help that would be great, I have come so close to breaking this thing out of the box so many times, I really don’t want to do that. I actually wish i could just connect it using a USB cable but i cant do that so…

current bios is at WDMyCloud v04.05.00-315 : Core F/W

Software is clunky? What “software” are you using? One doesn’t need to use any “software” other than Windows File Explorer or Mac Finder to access the My Cloud on the local network.

Can you access the My Cloud through its IP address?

You haven’t indicated (unless I missed it) if you have either rserved an IP address for the My Cloud in the network’s DHCP server or configured the My Cloud (through the Dashboard) to have a static IP.