Transferring files from one laptop to another

Hi. I have never done this before, so any help would be appreciated. I bought a ‘My Passport’ from Bestbuy so I could transfer my files from one laptop to another (the one laptop is dying so I need to transfer).

I initially setup a backup on my old laptop, and assumed that I could just plug into the new laptop and it would allow me to restore the files onto that, but it doesn’t seem to be that easy.

I don’t have anything fancy on my old laptop, the usual pics, QuickBooks files, PDFs, Office files, ITunes, and of course tons of pics.

Any suggestions?

Hello,

It all depends on which backup option or program you used to backup the original computer.
Also, if the backup was done correctly, it should be accessible when you access the drive through File Explorer.

I have the same question as Jim. I am trying to move data files over to a new laptop. I am very non technical. I can see the WD drive on my new laptop. What do I do next? I don’t want to copy everything. Just the data files.

Hi Barbara,

Once you access your drive through File Explorer, you will se a folder named “WDSmartWare.swstor”, once you access this folder, do the following:
Click on (the name of your computer) > (A folder with several numbers) > Volume > Users > (select your user), and finally you should find your backup in categorized folders.

Hope this helps !

1 Like

Jim,

Did you ever figure out how to transfer files with your My Passport from
your old laptop to your new laptop? I have a similar issue with transferring
between my old desktop running vista and a new desktop running
Windows 10. The My Passport is running good backing up file on the
old desktop. Not sure how to do the file transfer? Do I have to put the new
desktop on my network so it can see the My Passport on the old desktop?

Any help would be appreciated?
Clyde Alho

I don’t know enough about WD backup but from what I have seen it has no capability for making a disk image.