Replacing all drives

Hi,
I have been running an ex4100 now for a few years.

When I set the unit up, I used 4, 2tb disk drives that I was no longer using and set them up as raid 5 in case one of them failed.
I have no idea how old these drives are, but I have been running the ex4100 for about 3-ish years and they were probably about 5 years old when I first put them in, so I am guess they are about 8 years old and should probably be replaced,

However, I don’t know if there is a “correct procedure” for doing this and wanted peoples thoughts on the matter.

I can see two options:

1. Over the course of four nights, simply switch it off, replace one drive and let it rebuild overnight ready for the next day.

2. Backup all the data to a separate drive (about 4tb’s of data), switch it off and replace all drives at once, then restore all the data.

Option 1, will take a lot of time and I assume hammer all the drives for a week as it will be constantly rebuilding the drives and risks one of the older drives failing leading to corruption during the rebuilding phase.

Option 2, seems simpler as I will always have a backup copy, but I really don’t want to have to reset up the Ex4100 (which I am assuming I will have to do as the data like the users and the shares are probably stored somewhere on the disks themselves).

Has anyone replaced all their drives? What was your experience?

Thanks in advance.

A few thoughts - - -

1. Hammering the hard disks IS a concern.

2. You do want a backup of all the data - - > So I encourage the 4tb external drive option.

3. You can save the configuration file and upload it back into the unit. Buried some where in the settings portion of the dashboard.

4. The “I have more money than sense” option: Make the backup; pull the disks and replace with fresh drives. Copy data back. PUT THE USED DISK IN A DRAWER as a doomsday backup.