Rebuilding a RAID 10 to larger capacity for EX4100 with OS5 can be done. Here's how

I looked for info on rebuilding a RAID 10 to a larger capacity and found ZERO posts or any helpful support (except to say adding capacity options do NOT support RAID10). So I’m posting my successful experience so the next person searching will find something useful.

Background: I had a EX4 that was useful for storing my documents. I had enough good experiences that I got an EX4100 when I needed storage for RAW DSLR photos (I am a photographer with Nikon D750 and D850 taking thousands of images). When OS5 came out and it didn’t work with EX4, I replaced it with a refurbished EX4100.

My first EX4100 had 4x 3TB WD red disks. One drive started to have some SMART indicators going south, so I looked for replacements. With Presidents’ Day sales, I went with 8TB Red disks. I decided to go ahead and replace all the disks with these 8TB. So I got 5x 8TB to have a spare in case of disk failure.

Given that I have RAID 10, this means backing up the data externally and then reformatting/rebuilding the RAID 10, then restoring the data from external backup. Fortunately I had a Sabrent USB external drive housing that I could use with the “spare” 8TB drive. I also had a MyPassport 5TB SSD for photography on trips, and I had recently cleaned it off. So two external methods of backing up my current RAID volume.