Re: Can browse mediaserver and shares but no playback

@mkelley i have the exact same problem, and i am trying to work off Windows Vista (and not off any of the file servers) after following the Tutorial given on the community page and carrying out folder and media sharing. however, behavior remains the same. i can easily browse through the folders easy enough. The same files will play from local folders or even public folders on the PC but not from any other folders. i am a newbie to this, just got the unit about 3 weeks back. thanks for the help.

one quick addition. the same applies to all media and not just video. i cant play music or photos either off the non public folders.

Let me see if I understand what you are saying.  You press “VIdeo” and then choose “Network Shares” (let’s not talk about media servers – I don’t believe in them) and then you see your shared folders, correct?  And when you select them you see the files but you can’t play any?  Or you don’t see any files?  If you see them, what happens when you select one?  And did you update your firmware?  If you update your firmware, you need to reset the Live back to factory conditions (and then reestablish your network connections and your shares login).

Like Mike said,

you have to reset to factory settings. I had the same problem and this worked for me!