RAID set-up assistance with PR4100

Hello guys,

If anyone can offer any assistance I’ll be very grateful - I’ve just set up my first NAS, a Western Digital My Cloud PR4100 12TB (4x3Tb).

I’m a photographer, and my plan was as follows: set up drives 1 & 2 as RAID 1 - this would be for my client files (weddings, conferences, family shoots etc), so that I’d always have a copy in the event of a crash. Drive 3 was going to be a standalone drive (JBOD?) which would hold all my RAW files after each shoot, and Drive 4 would also be standalone and act as my Time Machine back up.

However now that I have installed the drives and gone through the set up process, all the drives appear to have been set up as RAID 1, split into volumes 1 & 2. I’m now unable to see any option to have drives 3 & 4 working as separate RAIDS.

Am I missing something obvious, if so please let me know, or is the PR4100 unable to be set up as I would like? I’d also appreciate any advice as to whether there’s a better strategy re-set up for what I was planning to do. I’m a novice, and I thought the way I intended to use the drives mentioned above would be the easiest way for me to keep track of things.

Thanks in advance for any assistance offered!

Best,
David

Hi @davys,

It sounds like you’re asking for a “mixed RAID” - unfortunately, this is not a feature of the My Cloud P4100 today. Sorry! :cold_sweat: But seeing interest in this functionality is great to know for our product and engineering teams.

Here is what I would recommend to accomplish your goals with your PR4100:

1.) Set up your PR4100 in RAID 5 (which should be the default configuration). This will give you a good balance between performance and protection.