New WD My Cloud, first thoughts

Hello to the community,

I recently bought a WD My Cloud for personal use. Im a student to a foreign country and I travel a lot, and on every trip I had to pack 3 or 4 different HDD in order to have my data with me. 4TB for now in more than enough to store everything into a single HDD. Another reason that made me to buy My cloud is that I wanted a Network attached disk so I can access my data from any device at any time, even when I’m not at home. WD My cloud was the easy solution.

My thoughts:

• Transferring huge amount of data from the USB port to the WD through the Mac App was a headache.(No haven’t tried Lan transfer cause I would like to be done by the New year’s eve). My only way was through terminal which I hesitated a bit at the beginning, cause Its a brand you disk and I didn’t want to mess it up.
  • There is no indication about how many GB of data a folder contains, it only indicates the files. Its not rocket science, such a feature for most of us I think is really useful.
  • While I was transferring my data to WD, I couldn’t even load the UI page till the transfer is done. So what is gonna happen if I transfer files to 2 or more computers at the same time? The system will not responding?
  • Why we dont have the ability to install light apps like transmission and other apps that can’t think of right now Out-Of-The-Box? In my oppinion apps like that can make our life easier and give to WD a lot of credits. I know there is another way, but all my data are on that disk, if something happen…Im gone (2nd Backup disk, I know but I cant afford right now, maybe later)

Thats what I noticed till now, I still setting the system up and transferring data to it. But I wanted to share my thoughts with you and hear yours. I’ll keep updating the thread if I think something else.

Thanks for your time.

this is all very true… but you get what you pay for. My netgear NAS used java and a web browser was much faster in many ways.