MyCloud NAS dead after OS5 upgrade?

I can see there are lots of discussion on here about post OS5 upgrade.
This is my scenario and I am not a tech expert. I get by.
I have a 4tb MyCloud device about 9 yrs old. Perfect working order. Can’t access on network as not OS5?
Unit went into safe mode, screen says my os is version 1 (out of the box 9 yrs ago?) so I upgrade it through the site to version 3 first. Perfect. But still can’t see on network and cannot manually install Plex server on. So take the OS5 upgrade, all works perfect, set up and go. Within 3 minutes we have fast blinking blue light and can’t access it any way including ping.
4 second reset, boots and goes into safe mode. Says it’s on version 1 and so we go round in circles? The unit does not seem to remember that it’s now OS5. So I extracted all data off and reformatted using WD utilities. 3.92tb drive brand new. Upgraded today, same process but it’s back to blue flashing light and unaccessible. So I accept the unit (motherboard?) is kerput. The drive is perfect so is there a way of still using this as a network drive without the WD dashboard? How can I utilise the hard drive to still store movies and Music on?
Any ideas? Keep it simple please lol :joy: help!

Small update after some more research!
This MyCloud device is a single bay one which apparently doesn’t support 3rd party apps and the feature to manually add one has gone in OS3.
Have rebooted, done safe mode again, updated to OS3 where it’s very happy. Can log in and out fine and drive is healthy. I have also read I can leave it on OS3 but will not get any updates which suits me fine as the updates seem corrupted anyway?
So my question now is, does anyone now how I can manually get Plex media server onto the drive without upgrading to OS5, which will fail again?

@Colonelkaye

Do you know if your device is a 1st generation or 2nd generation? Are the last two numbers 00 or 10? 00 is 1st generation and 10 is 2nd generation.
WDMyCloudImage