MyBook Live 2TB Stuck on Blue Light

I ordered my MyBook Live from Amazon on March 1, 2011 and received it a few days later.  It’s been working great, and I find it to be very fast.  I’m only using it as a media server with my WD TV Live Plus and 2Player from my Android 2.2 phone.  Today when I tried to access it, however, it was nowhere to be found on the network.  I’m a network/security pro, so I ran both Network Scanner and Wireshark, and neither IP nor MAC address of my MBL was visible.  My router’s DHCP server is configured to hand out a pre-assigned IP for each device, and I verified all is well with the router.

The MBL is stuck at the blue light, and neither removing power for a half hour (or more) or resetting has any effect.  When I reapply power, I can feel the drive inside doing its thing.  According to the user guide, a solid blue light first appears when the MBL is powered on, and it also means the HDD is in sleep mode. Once in a great while the otherwise solid blue light will flash white once and then return to solid blue.

The network interface seems to be working, and I’ve tried several CAT5e and CAT6 known-good cables.  I even tried connecting the MBL to my computer directly via ethernet.  Once again, no joy.  It’s like the MBL is bricked.  I see my daily backup ran successfully at 6:25am this morning, so the MBL croaked somewhere between then and now.

After searching the support knowledge base and finding nothing on this subject, I called tech support.  They’re doing an advance RMA for me.

In all my years of using Western Digital drives, I’ve only had to RMA two that I remember, and that’s a terrific track record.

Anyway, I thought I’d post re this issue and see if others had experienced it.  I’ll post back when I have any further info.  I’d just like to know what happened to my beloved MBL!

Interesting, the MBL ishould give a red light when something’s wrong… If it was stuck on blue then I’d agree on that it was not waking up.