MyBook essential 3TB not working PLEASE HELP!

I have a 3tb mybook essential…it worked great for about 6 months (was a backup for all my photos) im a professional photographer.

1. Now the drive isnt showing up on any of my comps except in disk management as 2 seperate unallocated partitions

see picture below: i can not do anything with the smaller partition and it says they are MBR, shouldnt they be gtp?

1. Im using an hp G7 series laptop and had no problems for over 6 months. I did recently connect the drive to a WD TV LIVE PLUS and it seemed to stop working after that. could that have changed the drive format?

2. What can i do to recover my photos??? please help!

It probably is corrupt. Maybe TestDisk http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk will restore it. You might also try accessing by booting from a Linux Live CD. EaseUS has one http://www.ptdd.com/  Recuva  is free http://www.piriform.com/recuva data recovery. There are other data recovery programs that are try and buy that let you recover a small amount to see if it work for you.

Joe

1 Like