Is my drive a goner?

I have a My Cloud I have been using fine for a couple of years. It is attached via Ethernet to my router and the light on the router for that Ethernet cable is solid green. Where the Ethernet plugs into the back of the My Cloud is a blinking green.

However, the light on the front of the My Cloud is yellow - it will blink when I plug the Ethernet into it (once) and then blinks once every 60-65 seconds. It has been this way for a couple of months. After reading many topics on this board I am still not totally certain the issue.

When I try to open the dashboard, I get the “sit back while we connect you” and then “failed to connect to the device”.

I can click connect to devices with my WD login, which I know the password to, but no devices are found.

I can only see the drive when I choose “Show previously connected devices”, but I cannot connect to it.

I can see in the manual that a yellow light may mean that it is downloading an update. And the timing of the update in October is close to when I started to be unable to access the drive, so that might make sense. But after all this time it seems like it would be done downloading and allow me to access the drive, so that doesn’t seem like the right issue.

I also see that a yellow light may mean the drive has gotten too hot. I am not sure if that is the case but I did completely unplug it from everything for the past two weeks so if it is salvageable it should be cooled down by now, still the yellow light on the front (which blinks every 65 seconds or so), and green light on the back.

So is there a next step I can take to regain access to this drive? I have some time off this week to do some more troubleshooting if anyone has some ideas.

Thank you in advance!

Hi there :)… first off did you try to do the 40s restart? where you turn it off… press the restart button, keep it pressed and turn it back on, while holding the reset pressed for 40s ?